14. Making a Program Enrollment Private
All materials developed by ICA are based on the Bitfocus Clarity HMIS platform and reflect the most current information available to us. Materials are updated as new information, guidance, and functionality are released by the vendor. Because the system continues to evolve, there may be updates or changes to the interface or functionality that are not yet reflected in these materials. ICA will continue to review and update these resources as additional information becomes available from Bitfocus.
Sometimes an individual client or household will request their data not be shared in Clarity Human Services outside the agency they are being served by. When this occurs and the agency is configured to share data with other agencies, the client record or components of it can be made private.
In addition to making the client record itself private, the following components of the client record can be made private:
- Location records
- Contact records
- Notes
- Files
- Assessments
- Service items
- Program enrollments
- Referrals
When a client record or component of the record is made private, only staff members for whom the creating agency is their home agency (or if they are switched into the agency) will be able to see the information.
HMIS Workflow
- Navigate to the Program tab and click on the Program

- The Privacy Lock icon is located at the top right corner of an enrollment and marked Public by default. The end user can hover over the lock icon to see a tooltip that indicates if the item is marked as Private or Public

- The privacy pop-up appears. Click Confirm

- Use the same process to change privacy to Public
Copyright 2026 Institute for Community Alliances. All rights reserved.